Diploma of General Agriculture

The aim of the training programme is to supply the country with adequately trained technicians in agriculture and livestock who will work in the villages and other agricultural production sectors as experts or participate in agricultural production through self employment.

The NTA level 6 curriculum comprises of 12 modules that are spread over two semesters in one academic year. A module has to be covered in one semester of fifteen (15) weeks. Therefore the whole programme has a total of thirty (30) weeks of study for full-time attendance mode.

Curriculum Overview

The modules in the programme are classified in the following subsections

Fundamental Modules

This refres to those modules that provide a range of skills, knowledge and principles appropriate for a graduate in the field of General Agriculture at technician level. Cross-cutting competencies like ICT and Entrepreneurship are also covered. there are five (5) fundamental modules in this curriculum

Core Modules

Modules associated with the core studies provide the development of the main theme of the programme. They broadly represent the main areas of activity in the respective disciplines, and the in-depth treatment of them will enable graduate to rapidly become an effective General Agriculture technician. There are seven (7) core modules in this curriculum.

Fees Structure

Description NTA Level 6
Registration Fee 20,000
Tuition fee 610,000
Identity Card 10,000
Examination fee 100,000
Accommodation 100,000
NACTE Fees 20,000
Student Union 15,000
Field Practical 100,000
Graduation 40,000
Library Fees 20,000
Total 1,035,000
For more details see Fee Structure Page

The Ordinary Diploma targets Form Six leavers with at least two passes in science subjects including biology.

Ordinary Diploma applicants with previous training such as Certificate in General Agriculture/Agro-vet, Certificate in Animal Health and Production and Certificate in Agriculture and Livestock Production will be considered for admission.